Fourteen new members were inducted to the Edison State Community College Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) during a ceremony on Tuesday, March 29 at the Piqua campus. Each semester, students are invited to join the honor society based upon academic criteria.

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society was established in 1918 to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming.

New inductees include: Mark Barga, of Bradford; Emily Cavinder, of Anna; Mikayla Crabtree, of Christiansburg; Jackson Dickman, of Troy; Sandra Grilliot, of Ansonia; Lynda Groff, of Anna; Debra Hines, of Troy; Brooke Long of Tipp City; Emma McWhorter, of Troy; Kayla Moore, of Troy; Gregory Scott of St. Marys; Makenzie Stucky, of New Paris; Megan Wortman, of Celina; and Jeffrey Zornes of Troy.

During the ceremony, Edison State President Dr. Doreen Larson provided opening remarks and Associate Professor of Anatomy and Physiology Dr. Thomas Martinez recognized the candidates for their academic achievements.

“PTK gives students a way to be involved on campus,” said Beka Lindeman, Faculty Advisor. “We do a service project each semester, which is led by the students. They get to choose how they want to serve their community.”

“In addition, members are also provided direct access to 37 million dollars in transfer scholarships should they choose to go on to a four-year college,” added William Loudermilk, Faculty Advisor. “We welcome, congratulate, and are proud of our newly-inducted, well-deserving members!”

Each semester, the Student Leadership Committee selects a member of the Edison State faculty or staff to honor during the ceremony. This semester, Rhonda Rich who serves as the Coordinator of the Darke County Campus and Success Advisor was commended for providing outstanding service to the students of Edison State.

Edison State was chartered in 1985 as the Alpha Lambda Eta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. The Chapter’s Leadership Committee includes Sarah Ray, Student President; Chelsea Thompson, Student Vice President and Secretary; Susan Barhorst, Committee Member; Eric Schwartz, Student Committee Member; Beka Lindeman, Faculty Advisor; and William Loudermilk, Faculty Advisor.

Recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society for two-year colleges, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters.

For more information about the Edison State chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

L to R: Dr. Thomas Martinez, Lynda Groff, Kayla Moore, Brooke Long, Gregory Scott, Emma McWhorter, Dr. Doreen Larson, Beka Lindeman, Rhonda Rich, Sarah Ray, Eric Swartz, and William Loudermilk