Several area football players were honored last week by the sportswriters in Southwest Ohio, as the Associated Press all-Southwest District team was released.

In Division Two, four members of the GWOC champion Troy Trojans were named to the first-team either on offense or defense. Selected as a first-team offensive lineman was 6-foot-4 senior Travis Hall. Also named to the first-team offense was two members of the Trojans backfield, as senior quarterback Hayden Kotwica was honored as one of the two quarterbacks on the list, along with senior running back Josh Browder.

On the defensive side of the ball, Troy placed junior defensive lineman Joah Schricker on the team, as the Trojans advanced to the second round of the playoffs, before falling to Miamisburg.

Named as the Division Two Southwest Ohio Coach of the Year was Troy’s first-year head coach Matt Burgbacher.

On the second-team, the Trojans had kicker Jacob Anderson honored, while junior linebacker John Wehrkamp was named to the defensive team.

Troy athletes honored on Honorable Mention included Will Brumfield and Sam Jackson.

Also in Division Two, Tecumseh saw Isaiah Trimble, a senior offensive lineman, named to the first-team offense, while named to the Honorable Mention list from the Arrows was Ryan Rowland.

In Division Three, the Tippecanoe Red Devils picked up some hardware for another trip to the playoffs. Named to the second-team offense was a pair of juniors for the Red Devils. Cole Barhorst made the selection as a running back, while kicker Caiden Smith also was selected to the second-team.

Tipp’s defense also placed two players on the second-team defense as seniors Cade Rogers made it as a defensive back, and Aaron Hughes was selected as a punter to the second-team.

Honorable mention players from Tippecanoe included Matt Garber, Austin Subler and Quenten Williams.

Division Five saw Northwestern sophomore Adam Reidinger named to the second-team, with Gage Vorhees honored as the punter on the second-team.

Bethel is coming off of their best season in years, and they also had players honored in Division Six. On the first-team offense, junior Hunter Shelley was honored on the offensive line, while on the defensive side of the ball, linebacker Ian Anderson and defensive back Nate Rimkus both were named to the first-team defense.

Troy Christian also finished another successful season, and placed some athletes on the Division VII team. On the first-team offense, senior Jacob Brown was honored as a wide receiver, while Seth Douglas was named first-team on the offensive line. Quarterback Hayden Hartman was honored on the first-team, along with running back Jacob Calvert.

Defensively, senior Caleb Salazar was selected to the first-team for the Eagles.

Listed on the honorable mention was Peyton Spurlock, David Blake and Peyton Forrer.